Queen Insoo

Queen Insoo

Drama: Queen Insoo (literal title)
Revised romanization: Insoodaebi
Hangul: 인수대비
Director: Lee Tae-Gon
Writer: Jung Ha-Yeon
Network: jTBC
Episodes: 60
Release Date: December 3, 2011 – June 24, 2012
Runtime: Sat. & Sun. 21:00
Language: Korean
Country: South Korea
Drama series depicts the ill fated relationships of three women and their destinies – Queen Insoo dreams of becoming the most powerful person in Joseon, Queen Yoon who suffers misfortune and Queen Junghee.

It has been a year since King Moonjong became the King of Joseon. King Moonjong has become sick and worries about his young son, Crown Prince Danjong. Meanwhile, the king’s younger brother Prince Sooyang has his eyes on the king’s throne.

A party is held in the palace. Han Jung and her sister go to attend the party. Han Jung is the youngest daughter of noble man Han Hwak. Han Hwak is also a high ranking public officer and also a position appointed by the Ming Dynasty. Han Jung, meanwhile, isn’t like the other women from noble families who are calm and obedient. Even with her young age, Han Jung is set on becoming a queen. Walking in the palace, Han Jung tells herself that she will become the queen. Han Jung loses her sister while walking around the palace. While roaming the halls she meets a young man. Han Jung identifies herself, but the man doesn’t say who he is. The young man says he will take her to room where the party is held.