Emperor Of The Sea


Drama: Emperor of the Sea / Sea God
Revised romanization: Haeshin
Hangul: 해신
Director: Il-soo Kang, Kang Byung-Taek
Writer: Jin-ok Jeong, Ju-ha Hwang
Network: KBS
Episodes: 51
Release Date: November 24, 2004 -May 25, 2005
Runtime: Wed. & Thurs. 21:50
Language: Korean
Country: South Korea


‘Emperor of the Sea’ is 50-episode drama based on the Choi In-ho’s novel of the same title. The drama depicts the life of Jang Bo-go, who dominated the sea of the East Asia and international trade during the Unified Shilla Dynasty (676~935).

Jang Bo-go also eliminated pirates by installing Cheong-Hae-Jin on Wando, which is a geographically important sea route. Likewise he erected the order of the marine trade in East Asia from Dang(China) and Japan to the North China sea.