The Proxy Soldiers (Korean Movie)

The Proxy Soldiers


  • Movie: The Proxy Soldiers (English title) / Daerib Forces (literal title)
  • Revised romanization: Daeribgoon
  • Hangul: 대립군
  • Director: Jeong Yoon-Chul
  • Writer:
  • Producer:
  • Cinematographer:
  • Release Date: June, 2017
  • Runtime:
  • Genre: Period-16th Century
  • Distributor: 20th Century Fox Korea
  • Language: Korean
  • Country: South Korea


To avoid invading Japanese forces, King Seonjo leaves for the Ming dynasty and abandons his people in the process. In his place, Prince Gwanghae (Yeo Jin-Goo) leads the royal court. Meanwhile, To-Woo (Lee Jung-Jae) leads the Daerib forces. They consist of those who are paid to serve in the military on behalf of others.


  1. Filming began September 5, 2016 and finished January 10, 2017.


  • Lee Jung-Jae – To-Woo
  • Yeo Jin-Goo – Prince Gwanghae
  • Kim Moo-Yul – Gok-Soo (member of Daerib forces)
  • Park Won-Sang – member of Daerib forces
  • Esom – Duk-Yi (Prince Gwanghae’s court lady)
  • Bae Soo-Bin – Jang Yang-Sa (Prince Gwanghae’s guard)
  • Kim Myung-Gon
  • Park Hae-Joon